Tuesday, 10 May 2016

May New Releases

Contest news ~ Congratulations to Iola Goulton on being awarded a semi-final place in the 2016 ACFW Genesis Contest in the novella category! 



The Peppercorn Project by Nicki Edwards (Momentum, May 31, 2016) 


One heartbroken woman. One bitter cop. One community to save them.


After the tragic death of her husband, single mum Isabelle Cassidy is bereft and broke. When she hears about The Peppercorn Project – a scheme that offers affordable rent in the tiny but vibrant town of Stony Creek – Issie sees it as her family's best chance at a fresh start.


Newly single police officer Matt Robertson moved to Stony Creek to lick his wounds after a bitter divorce. Wanting only peace and quiet, Matt is against the Project, seeing it as a threat to the peace he's found in the country town – until he meets Issie. Despite himself, Matt is drawn to the widow and feels inexplicably protective of her fragile family.


Just when Issie begins to imagine a future with Matt, an accident proves how far she has to go before she can move beyond her grief. But the citizens of Stony Creek won't rest until they see these two broken souls find a new beginning, together.


Can Issie move beyond the pain of her past and entrust Matt with her family, and her heart? A gorgeous rural romance for fans of Fiona McArthur, Rachael Johns and Fiona McCallum.


http://nickiedwards.com.au/






Philippians & Philemon: Joy in the Lord by Paul Barnett (Aquila Press, 22 April 2016) 



Paul skilfully unpacks these small but comprehensive letters, guiding readers to discover answers to the questions ‘What is joy?’ and ‘How can it be God’s gift to suffer for Christ’s sake?’. Paul helps readers to dig deeper into these New Testament books and encourages them to praise the one who promises to finish the good work he began in us.

This non-technical commentary is ideal for preachers and leaders, Bible study groups, and for personal study in the word. It is a valuable addition to the Reading the Bible Today series.



Paul Barnett, former Anglican Bishop of North Sydney (1990–2001), is an honorary Associate in Ancient History at Macquarie University, Teaching Fellow at Regent College, Vancouver, and Emeritus Lecturer at Moore College, Sydney. Paul is a prominent author on the history of Christianity and the life and character of Jesus.

Website





Mail Order Surprise by Lucy Thompson (Winged Publications, 27 April 2016


Colorado, 1881. Lydia Walsh is on the run. The quiet rancher she marries and expected to find safety and protection with turns out to have three siblings, next to nothing to live on, and is a crack shot who may or may not be one of the states best cattle rustlers.

Beau Harding wants to keep his family together and do the right thing by them. His mail order bride comes with her own set of baggage: two more mouths to feed and empty hearts begging him to fill. The job he took for some quick money gets him thrown in jail for rustling, and then to clear his name he takes on another job--and learns that his wife may have been the one plotting his family’s downfall all along.

Amazon link






Kyoto Sakura Tanka by Andrew Lansdown (Rhiza Press, 1 May, 2016) 


This unique book takes readers on a fascinating journey through Japan’s heartland, introducing them to subjects ranging from birds, bamboos and blossoms to omikuji, origami and shishiodoshi, in settings ranging from canals and gardens to castles and temples. 

All the poems are written in a form traditional to Japan, an ancient poetic form known as tanka (or waka).

Kyoto Sakura Tanka is Andrew Lansdown’s fifteenth published collection of poetry and his first published collection of photography.


The Warrior Lord's Sword by Ray Hawkins (Ray Hawkins, 4 April 2016)

Hebrews 4:12 tells us that God's Word is sharper than any two-edged sword. As you read this 31 day Devotional Meditation you will appreciate what the bible says about itself. 

It shares with us God's breath is in print. How it has eternity  woven in it and that what it reveals cannot be broken. This devotional will build your confidence in the integrity and inspiration of the Scriptures. You will be motivated to read the Bible and see/hear what it says to you. Your faith will be strengthened and your hope made brighter as you realise the unchanging truth of God's Word.


Amazon link

2 comments:

  1. A variety of books there. Thanks Narelle. I must admit the one that interests me most is the Andrew Lansdown poetry book. I have long been a fan of this poet. But some of the other releases sound good too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Dale, We have a range of genres in our new releases post this month. Exciting to see, and hopefully there's at least one book on the list that will appeal to everyone :)

      Delete